Carl Schroeder’s ASL Letter to PURPLE

Reprinted here with permission

From Carl’s youtube description:
Carl Schroeder discusses that we have engaged in a serious and sustained public discussion of our being deaf, our language, our culture: Deafhood, Audism, DBC, AFA and DHC. Although DVTV and DeafRead editors announced that the Purple icon was removed from their web site, they plan to put it back. We need to know what standing or position statement Purple has on hate speech on being deaf, ASL, Deaf cuture….

2 thoughts on “Carl Schroeder’s ASL Letter to PURPLE

  1. I am Maria. You can see me Ryan Commerson’s vlog. This is title Purple and Maria. (http://signcasts.com/node/260) I have seen the vloggers and bloggers attacking and violating other each AT Deafvideo.tv (DVTV) and Deafread (DR). Brain Mayer does not have good system to prevent attacking for DVTV and DR. I wish Purple communication cared about the Deaf consumer and the community. Please respect Deaf consumer’s right.

  2. After reading the blogs and vlogs. I came across to this websites to read and watch all of bloggers and vloggers which I’d prefer to stay with these deaf people whom I have respect for them.
    I have notified DeafVideo.TV to remove my account from their subscription. I felt disgusted by their actions toward other deaf vloggers. It’s way too much for me to handle this and so overwhelming. As Carl said above that they all use hate speech. I do see those who uses hate speech. It needs to be STOPPED. So that’s when I decided to resign my membership from that website. I’d prefer to be with healthy deaf community to keep deaf alive. As it was my motto for over a year, ‘Keep Deaf Alive’. I support Deafhood, DBC, AFA, and DHC. As DR and DVTV are way too much audism toward other deaf vloggers.

Leave a comment