Share your stories w/ oral / aural education – making the invisible visible

Share your stories w/ oral / aural education

– making the invisible visible

Text and links below video box

Invitation to share your personal stories with oral / aural education – Document OURstories as part of history.  Making the invisible visible.  Shares 2 stories – 40 year old woman having flashbacks of principal threatening to chop off her fingers/hands with large paper cutter if caught signing.  20 year old woman recalling how chastised for pointing at a sign in oral / aural ONLY school hallway and punished for signing during lunch

Veditz’s obit to AG Bell

https://handeyes.wordpress.com/2011/07/11/veditzs-obit-for-ag-bell-tis-true-tis-pity-pity-tis-tis-true/

Ourstories testimonies of estrangement

https://handeyes.wordpress.com/2011/07/09/testimonies-on-estrangement-not-history-ourstory/

list of option schools

http://auditoryoralschools.org/schools.aspx

map of oral / aural only education schools

http://www.oraldeafed.org/schools/index.html

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deafa
    Jul 15, 2011 @ 18:24:54

    I could leave a story, but it seem I can’t really sit and write it. It’s too exhausting to think about it. But I do leave my bits and pieces of my story here and there, though.

    I never went to oral school. they mainstreamed me from the start. I started out in preschool with other kids who have high needs and communication disorders but they were hearing.

  2. deafa
    Jul 15, 2011 @ 18:29:52

    no body ever really chastised me for pointing, but they tell me that I had to use my voice instead of pointing and gesturing if I want something. Other than that I am far more likely to get ignored even my classmates if I point and gestures. I was a quiet person in elementary, and that new show on switch at birth, where no one would be friends with you and invite you to their parties is real. I sat by myself in lunch and recess for years.

  3. handeyes
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 12:31:03

    deafa – biggest thanks for ur comments

    i have seen u sharing ur song here and there in bits and pieces via comments etc

    if u copy and paste into word when u find these old gems and let it keep growing or want to feed me in installments – part 1, part 2 – pls do

    my fear is that if things r so scattered – its harder for folks to find and see and also some folks never look at comments – they only look at the blog entry

    just a thought. regardless of what u decide – i always value what u share and im always grateful for what u have shared thus far. OURstories – meaning yours too – are very important to me

    peace

    patti

Leave a Reply

