“… the better angels of our nature”

im a quote freak – and this is one of my favorite ones

“… the better angels of our nature”

its from honest abe’s First Inaugural Address

I have hung me heart and me hopes on this quote

it has come to my mind and the forefront of my rattling soul since the beginning of my days in the world wide web.  Our Deaf politics rhetoric can be awful unkind.  I was often feeling like how we forgot the word KIND within the word “humankind”and the importance of compassion within passion.

I have seen things done and said on both end of the rainbow rhetoric that has disturbed and upset me.

As i have watched the war of words mutate into a tug-a-words (and vice versa), i have been saddened and i admit more than once i have been fearful.  When folks got particularly rough or threatening or mean towards each other or me, i have felt fear.  When i have seen good folks go bad, i have felt fear.

Hatred begets hatred.  This is a truth folks.   Plain and simple.

Love begets love.  Not always.  Sometimes confronting folks with love does get animosity.  Does get anger.  does get scorn.  But it is what we are called to do.

It is the portal in which we must walk through to tap into the better angels of our nature.

So on this week of our national mourning, i send my love out to the families of the six people who were unjustly, unfathomable, and heartbreakenly murdered (im crying folks – i kid u not)

Judge Roll, 63,

Mr. Zimmerman, 30,

Christina Green, 9;

Dorothy Morris, 76;

Dorwin Stoddard, 76;

and Phyllis Schneck, 79

May you rest in peace.

My love goes out to your families.

My heart goes out to all the other folks who were injured (14 folks) – most especially to Gabby Gifford because her injuries are the most serious and since she was the target of this hatred and still she stood.

I admire her – her convictions, her steadfastness for the better angels of our NATION and for her refusal to have a death of the spirit.

I am so sorry that your love was met with such hate.

“A coward is incapable of exhibiting love; it is the prerogative of the brave.” ~ Mahatma Gandhi

“When I despair, I remember that all through history the ways of truth and love have always won. There have been tyrants, and murderers, and for a time they can seem invincible, but in the end they always fall. Think of it–always.” ~ Mahatma Gandhi

My love goes out to Jared Loughner and his family.

My love goes out to Sarah Palin and her family.

My love goes out to the Tea Party and their families.

My love goes out to the Republican party and their families.

My love goes out to the Democratic party and their families.

My love goes out to Sheriff Clarence Dupnik and his family.

My love goes out to the members of the Westboro Baptist Church and their families.

My love goes out to Obama and his family.

My love goes out to our Nation and all of our families.

My love goes out to the people of Iraq and their families.

My love goes out to the people of Afghanistan and their families.

My love goes out to u and me.

My love goes out to our planet.

As Gifford’s astronaut brother-in-law said: “We’re better than this. We must do better.”

We are not enemies, but friends. We must not be enemies. Though passion may have strained it must not break our bonds of affection. The mystic chords of memory, stretching from every battlefield and patriot grave to every living heart and hearthstone all over this broad land, will yet swell the chorus of the Union, when again touched, as surely they will be, by the better angels of our nature. ~ Abraham Lincoln

http://www.bartleby.com/124/pres31.html

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sheri A Farinha
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 19:13:33

    Oh boy,…you gotta lotta love to make the world go round, wink.
    This topic has me real concerned and keeping me awake at night.
    Especially when I learned that the Westbro Baptist Church of Hate plans to picket the funeral of the 9yr old girl rootin’ for the killer, etc. I mean, this is absolutley insane!!! Yes there’s alot of blaming going around, but hey, you forgot the Sheriff – he’s my hero of that situation saying bluntly about AZ being the mecca of hate and bigotry. We’ve known it when they sent out the gestpo police to arrest anyone who had a skin color that wasn’t white, etc. The Sarah Palin Map fiasco with crosshairs on the congressional reps district was out of line, its been up for awhile, and within one hour of the shooting it was taken down, including her own FB comment telling the Tea Party to focus on those “targets”, not to retreat but reload! OMG. People need to watch what they say and do obviously because there are enough sickos out there who will take such words and actually act on them. For anyone to say it was not politically motivated, only have to go to the killer’s youtube messages. There are troubled people out there that’s for sure. I could go on and on and on…. but bottom line, ppl need to focus on the “debate, and END the hate!”

    Yes yes, Angels unite! 🙂 Peace n love everyone!

  2. handeyes
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 21:19:21

    smile re: the angels unite – that is a good mantra to chant

    thanks for that sheri

    and ill add the sheriff in the blog entry to my love fest – thanks for noting that. i do consider him a hero for calling ALL of us to do some soul searching re: what we want the U.S. to be all about

    re: all the chilling things that r coming forward that some folks have done and not recanted for – wow

    it is very disturbing

    i think in Gifford’s honor and especially in Christina Taylor Green (the 9 year old 9/11 girl) we need to examine our rhetoric – tone it down and send out a message of true love and peace to each other

    re: the sheriff – i will note that i wish he hadnt used “Mecca” of hate and bigotry
    i understand that we in the US use “Mecca” to just mean a centralized place – a place where folks gather together but it is a sacred and holy place for Muslims and at a time where Muslims are under attack by folks who are hateful and at a time when some Islamic extremists are misrepresenting the fundamental peaceful principles of Islam – i would have preferred a different term

    maybe “hotbed”

    but i really truly do admire what he had to say cuz he was not blaming anyone specifically and he was calling upon ALL and EACH of us to make a difference

    i blogged a bit about bigotry and persecution and the cross-hairs here
    https://handeyes.wordpress.com/2011/01/09/“to-bigotry-no-sanction-to-persecution-no-assistance”/

    the vitriol viciousness has got to stop

    Angels Unite

    thanks for ur comment

    peace

    patti

Leave a Reply

