Free At Last

“We will surely get to our destination if we join hands.” — Aung San Suu Kyi

Today is one of those days i recite ee cummings “i thank you God for most this amazing” poem

this is the sun’s birthday – so why me have this happy place this golden a.m. – is it “for the leaping greenly spirits of trees and a blue true dream of sky” or the delicious breakfast in bed Z just prepared for us

no

nope

those r lovely things but the skip in me beat is for the release of

Aung San Suu Kyi

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-pacific-11685977

> 15 years of house arrest

I had followed a bit about Aung San Suu Kyi over the years via Amnesty International and last year was intrigued and confused by some American man who swam across a lake to visit her under house arrest.  He stayed 2 days and caused her imprisonment to be extended.  The guy is shown in alot of pix using the ILY sign – i never really did learn how or why he used it or what he was up to – something about being a missionary.  It was all very odd but she Aung San Suu Kyi – wow she just amazes me.  She just floors me.  She just makes me heart sing.  So now im determined to get her book “Freedom From Fear” to read during the break.

“Fear is not the natural state of civilized people.” –  Aung San Suu Kyi

“It is not power that corrupts but fear.  Fear of losing
power corrupts those who wield it and fear of the scourge
of power corrupts those who are subject to it.”

–  Aung San Suu Kyi

I think we have much to learn from folks who can stand and stand and stand again and again.  In the face of great adversity.  Re: her imprisonment, she said they could not imprison her principles, they could not imprison her mind.  Like me other hero Nelson Mandela, Aung San Suu Kyi gives me hope for our humanity.

“I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear.” – Nelson Mandela

“As I walked out the door toward the gate that would lead to my freedom, I knew if I didn’t leave my bitterness and hatred behind, I’d still be in prison.” Nelson Mandela

“I am fundamentally an optimist. Whether that comes from nature or nurture, I cannot say. Part of being optimistic is keeping one’s head pointed toward the sun, one’s feet moving forward. There were many dark moments when my faith in humanity was sorely tested, but I would not and could not give myself up to despair. That way lays defeat and death.”  Nelson Mandela
“Freedom is indivisible; the chains on any one of my people were the chains on all of them, the chains on all of my people were the chains on me.” Nelson Mandela

“There is no easy walk to freedom anywhere, and many of us will have to pass through the valley of the shadow of death again and again before we reach the mountaintop of our desires” Nelson Mandela

Jumping at da sun folks

image from: http://www.flickr.com/photos/55554640@N05/5165804997/

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sheri A Farinha
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 17:52:41

    Excellent post, Patti…just shared with my FB and Twitter friends! Me too real curious how this man knows the “ILY” sign? Would be real interesting to find out!

  2. Karen Mayes
    Nov 17, 2010 @ 21:09:19

    I just wanted to let you know that I viewed your youtube video and it was good… Yes, that’s correct; forgiveness is necessary to let go of bitterness or otherwise, we’d dwell on the wrongs.

  3. patti
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 00:19:48

    hi sheri

    thanks for ur note

    re: the ILY sign – i think the only thing i learned that thought might relate was that he was a missionary -but its all vague from 1 year ago and presently i wanted to focus more on aung san suu kyi

    but someday if i get time i might read more – if u learn anything do let me know. just a curious thing the whole deal with that bloke

    hi Karen – aw thanks for ur note re: the youtube – ill put it in a new people of the eye entry so its here too

    crazy busy right now and soon off for a “work on the beast in the box” project retreat and a glorious FAST from the tangled web. been seeing some mighty sad and bad stuff and no matter how much we shout out folks dont hold up to their own end of the deal and also do some mighty nasty bullying of their own so i aim to learn from Gandhi – who fasted when the muslims and hindus were slaughtering each other after the British left india and to learn from aung san suu kyi about sitting at the table and agreeing to disagree (now knowing that u cant agree with folks who refuse to tell u that in fact they disagree with ya in the first place ; ) im learning so much and to learn from Nelson – that man – wow

    not only did he decide on the day he was freed to leave bitterness and hatred behind – he ALSO invited his guards to his inauguration when he became president

    i can not tell u how much i love him

    and karen – i love u

    really u have wowed the socks off of me lately

    big time

    i been looking for heros everywhere and u be one of them

    stay strong and stay true

    u rule

    much peace

    patti

  4. Trackback: “ignite the light…” « PEOPLE OF THE EYE -…first, last, and all the time” – g. veditz 1910

Leave a Reply

