Thank You Obama

Thank you Obama for this important message

If only we could stop the wars too

Peace

patti

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. finlake
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 17:32:10

    Hmm, have you thought about posting this video on aslrocks? 🙂

  2. handeyes
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 17:45:46

    done

    thanks for suggesting that

    peace

    patti

  3. Candy
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 18:33:49

    There was a big rally here in my town, I live in one of the University of Wisconsin town. There was an attack on some girl because she wore “legalize Gay” shirt. Dumb.

    It does get better..

    I believe Obama stopped the combat in Iraq, except leaving few thoudands for peacekeeping.

    Definitely need to stop all the wars.

    War is stupid.

  4. finlake
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 19:43:00

    I’m going a bit “political,” for I am a Republican and am not too particular with Obama (Tho I prefer him over McCain). Anyhow, for once, I agree with Obama this BULLYING needs to STOP. It’s preposterous.

    Candy, I sincerely believe the war in Iraq is a waste, however I’m also pro-Israel and am not too surprised Iraq (Iran, actually) really wants to wipe out the country of Israel.

    But then again, I’m very certain nobody’s winning in any war, really.

    BTW, that was dumb about that girl being beaten up just because she had “Legalize Gay.” shirt on. -sigh- Reminds me too much of those backwards people out in Texas who did atrocious things to the gay/lesbian/TS people. I grew up in Texas, and I know the mentality too well. I really don’t need to mention one particular vlogger comes to mind. -shrugs- Quite a pity.

    Back to Obama, I hope this message will get through. Patti, have you thought about changing the subject to “Obama says QUIT BULLYING” or something via ASLrocks? 🙂

  5. Karen Mayes
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 22:46:50

    Yup.

    I just heard that one more kid committed suicide in Indiana recently, due to bullying–
    http://www.indystar.com/article/20101024/LOCAL0102/10240391/-1/7daysarchives/Father-says-Hamilton-Southeastern-High-School-teen-who-killed-himself-was-bullied

    Anyway, all we can hope is to raise awareness of bullying… that it does not do good to all of us. Candy and finlake mentioned war and it seems to me that war increase the freedom for bullying to happen in the worst ways :-/

    As for the war, when the Wikileaks first released the documents last week, I read many of them… god. We all know that war knows no meaning of dignity, but I was kinda hoping that we Americans would amount a little more than… then we heard about the jail in which a lady treaded the POWs like animals and I knew from there that we’d have ongoing problems 😦 Actually I was not surprised to read the documents, but what disappoints me is that the fact that Americans who supposedly received education, supposedly attended religious organizations, etc… behaved differently.

  6. handeyes
    Oct 25, 2010 @ 00:34:26

    candy and karen – thanks for the info about newer reports of bullying, attacks, and a suicide

    really upsetting

    i keep thinking of “tread carefully, feelings are everywhere”

    wish we could all treat others as we ourselves would want to be treated

    finlake – i modified the title over at ASLrocks

    re: the fellow from Texas – we dont really need to go backwards do we???

    forgiveness, peace, love, no bullying by anybody anywhere – ya know – thats the tune i wanna play to

    wanna join me?

    re: war
    karen – finlake and candy mentioned it cuz under obama’s video i got a little line about stopping the wars

    im really really really troubled by the bullying in the US and also by the US via these wars – it seems to be part of the continuum – part of an unacceptable mindset

    i can not tell u how deeply sad and worried i am about aggression and hatred

    breaks me heart

    found a bunch of anti-war quotes today and put them up in FB but ill start a new thread and put them up here at “People…” in case some folks want to just discuss bullying here and war over in the next entry

    thanks again for all ur comments

    and for caring about this topic

    peace

    patti

  7. Candy
    Oct 25, 2010 @ 05:04:15

    huh, finlake… I thought you said you were a libertarian. You a republican? cudda fooled me. You might want to check out Mike McConnell’s Republican blog. I try not to comment over there. lol Not a republican, nuh uh. Worst comes to worst, if the Republicans take more control of

    About the wars, oh yeah, it’s definitely all about Israel. No question about it. I know not everyone is going to agree with me, but, it all has to do with these arabs wanting to eradicate Israel. This I know cuz the Bible tells me so. 😉 I hope I’m not opening a can o’ worms.

    Republicans would love a lame duck president, so it’s imperative for our country’s sake that the democrates still have control of congress. Otherwise our country and we are going to be screwed.

    ;o)

  8. Candy
    Oct 25, 2010 @ 05:05:18

    ok my first paragraph got interruped when one of my kids were talking to me and you can see I pick up on it in my third paragraph. KIDS!

    😉

  9. finlake
    Oct 25, 2010 @ 07:24:04

    Ok ok, Candy — Libertarian it is. I say Republican because of my reckoning of Ron Paul had to take the Republican ticket to get the vote (correct me if I’m mistaken). Ok, I’ll check out kokonuts’ site.

    Well, as much as I have a strong disdain for religious institution, I’d say I’m uhm… -cued cough- biased in regards to Israel. 🙂

    Well, I could say I also align with Anti-Federalism. 🙂 Thomas Jefferson for Presidency! No, wait, Dr. Kevorkian for President! (you know I’m joking, right? :p )

  10. Karen Mayes
    Oct 25, 2010 @ 09:24:27

    Yes, Patti, I saw what you said about war. Now going to read your next posting…

  11. handeyes
    Oct 25, 2010 @ 12:44:16

    heye candy –

    thanks for clarifying finlake’s political pov

    busted mate

    re: Israel, the Middle East, and the U.S. – very complicated – V E R Y

    we could chat about it surely but what the bible tells us so – lets hold off on that a bit as how folks read it often depends on their lens and not what is actually being said ; )

    re: republicans and democrats – well candy i’ll see ur shout out for “get out the vote” and raise u one – election day coming up folks – get busy

    re: ur kids – bless ’em

    they are the things that make me heart beat the best and the fastest

    finlake – u were bouncy last night, eh?

    re: Dr. Kevorkian for president – well that would solve a lot of our health care problems and economic crisis but

    re: anti-federalists in the spirit of T.J. – well finlake i do believe u may be a democrat cuz while the anti-federalists were pretty much the Republican party – it kinda swapped over so that the republican part became the Democrats and vice versa

    or ya could just be an independent ; )

    karen – thanks for commenting over in the newer thread

    https://handeyes.wordpress.com/2010/10/25/the-wars-and-the-truth/

    peace all

    p

    peace

    patti

  12. finlake
    Oct 25, 2010 @ 17:51:49

    Well, for a start, I’m a minority — half breed asian and deaf. However, I grew up in a conservative family (white side). So, go figure.

    More on anti-federalism later.

  13. Candy
    Oct 26, 2010 @ 03:21:03

    finlake..

    I have not been following the latest regarding presidential wannabe’s.. Not too crazy about Ron Paul..Dunno if he is actually going to run for prez under Republican ticket. Too early for me to get into it. 😉

    But…I tell people I think I am a libertarian because I really like their ideology. Problem here is the POTUS does not really have much effect on the state of our Country. It’s the congressmen that does. So, it would be smart if people voted for Senators and House members carefully. People shouldn’t be putting the blame on POTUS. It’s the congress that either helps or f*ucks up America. We need a stronger third party, not typical two party system that gets most of the votes. Definitely not the tea party, they’re like, psychos. 😉 If I piss or offend anyone, I’m sorry. It’s all just politics.

    ugh..too early for me to get into politics.

  14. handeyes
    Oct 26, 2010 @ 03:49:43

    finlake – smile

    candy – yep this is why folks r doing the “get out the vote” push

    nov 2 is gonna be a HUGE one – many a seats in house of re, senate, and governorship

    really huge

    vote vote vote people

    its our civic duty

    and the legislature determines lots and lots of stuff and governors determine lots and lots of stuff sooooo…. let ur fingers do the flicking on nov 2nd

    silence = death (dont believe me just go look at the wikileak report at how many iraqi and afghanistan civilians have been killed) – yep congress pretty much gave bush et al carte blank re: declaration of war (war powers act etc)

    dont even get me started on the eroding of our civil liberties in the name of protecting them – talk about double speech

    peace

    patti

  15. finlake
    Oct 26, 2010 @ 10:06:29

    Took me a while to figure out the POTUS. Yeah, Ken Buck’s making me extremely nervous with his extremist actions/statements lately, so I’m not gonna vote for him despite my “rah-rah” for the Elephantians. That reminds me, I’ll have to take my blue book (voting info book) to do the reviews on the issues coming up on the ballot and all those Senate/Congress seating when Im gone to Salem this weekend and figure out where I stand and know what to vote comes Nov 2nd to vote. Woo hoo!

    Ron Paul said he doesn’t know if he’ll run for 2012 or not. Err, more accurately he said he hasn’t ruled it out when he said he wouldn’t previously. Don’t get me wrong, I really like his ideas and so forth, but he’s simply isn’t cut out to be the POTUS — he’s too softspoken and monotonous which was what I was told on the reason why he’s simply not gettin’ the votes. He’s real bright, and all. Yes, I’ve read his “End the Fed” which was quite an eye-opener book.

    Also, the two parties have been around for centuries, if not thousands of years. I’ll never forget how much Ross Perot actually swung the vote. -wince-

    What’s your reasoning for not being particular about Ron Paul, Candy? You can take it privately, if you prefer.

    Patti, thanks for the reminder — it’s gonna be quite critical part of the year to do the vote!

  16. Karen Mayes
    Oct 26, 2010 @ 12:19:45

    I had to Google POTUS, ha. President of the US.

    Yup, I keep telling people it’s Congress, not the Prez. My father has been calling himself a libertarian… for the last many years. Unlike some of you, I don’t really follow politics… I should though. ~wince~ I don’t really know the candidates’ platforms. I will do a quick read on them soon prior to Nov. 2nd. I see a lot of TV ads about candidates who themselves approved their own ads lately.

  17. finlake
    Oct 26, 2010 @ 17:09:58

    Well, you might wanna, Karen, if you really want to know where your tax dollars has been going to.

  18. handeyes
    Oct 26, 2010 @ 21:10:31

    finlake – have a great time in salem. ya know the witches were just feminists ; )

    re perot – oy remember what happened with Nader

    Karen – i gotta read up on the candidates in our area also

    its gonna be a real big one for the whole country

    i care less about if its a dem or rep majority and more about if its good folks taking the seats and being committed to doing the right thing and doing the just thing

    we got real problems and we need real solutions and commitments – not politiking and punditry

    bread and circus is not cool

    peace

    patti

  19. Karen Mayes
    Oct 26, 2010 @ 23:07:02

    Yeah, finlake… that’s the problem… there are TOO many wannabes for legislature (county, state, etc.) so I have this weekend to quickly read about their platforms. I wish that there is one UNBIASED newspaper or online news that I could read and be the judge of who I’d vote…

  20. finlake
    Oct 27, 2010 @ 00:26:59

    Patti, thanks. I dig females, ya know? 🙂

    Karen, usually in my case, the county (or state, can’t remember which) actually publish the Blue Book which is unbiased. So I think Rochester should have such thing? Or State of NY, that is.

  21. Karen Mayes
    Oct 27, 2010 @ 11:00:19

    finlake, looks like Colorado has blue book already detailed and all… I could not find one in Google for NYS, except for New York City, which we don’t live (which most of tax money goes to… :-/ ) Patti, are you familiar with “blue book” that we have and if so, drop a link?

  22. patti
    Oct 27, 2010 @ 12:26:51

    finlake – glad to see ur a feminist too ; )

    heye karen –

    i did look around on line for a blue book re: elections for NY state and dont see nuting

    did see for CO and a few other states

    boo

    looks like a great thing to have

    D & C newspaper usually has something a simplified run down on each candidate etc

    AARP has a cool function where u type in ur address and it calls up the candidates in ur area and their position on various topics – social security, medicare, economy, energy etc

    http://vote13.aarp.org/?cmp=KNC-VOTE&sfr=1288181904638

    note the NEXT box at the top when u finish reviewing one seat the NEXT or page number at top allows u to advance to the next one

    League of Women Voters put questions to various candidates in NY state and has their responses up
    go to:
    http://www.smartvoter.org/2010/11/02/ny/mnr/state_executive.html

    click the candidate’s name then ANSWERS to the questions

    happy voting

    peace

    patti

  23. handeyes
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 16:59:59

    also for NY state – u can consider voting via the Working Families party

    this is a new third party system that usually carries a democrat or republican candidate that endorses and has a track record in favor of the values and issues that the Working Families have been advocating for

    http://action.workingfamiliesparty.org/p/dia/action/public/?action_KEY=2557

    u can see how they have shaped past issues and elections at:
    http://www.workingfamiliesparty.org/about/victories/

    it does send a message to the traditional parties if there are significant numbers voting under the third party group because it zones in on what is important without splitting or stealing votes etc

    peace

    patti

Leave a Reply

