For the record – StopDeafRead FB not mine

HI all

today someone i know explained how she didnt really support Stop DeafRead @ Facebook.  I had only seen that facebook a few month ago when it was drawing some stuff from the People of the Eye during the campaign to get Purple banners off of DR / DVTV due to DR / DVTV running blogs and vlogs that involved cyberbullying etc.

Then and now i dont know who is behind that Facebook.  I asked her – why did you think it was me.  She said some of their way of expressing things looks like urs – so i just checked it out – and im like – huh?  that sounds like me?

for one – i dont hide.  if im behind something i put me name to it cuz i know there is a ton of distrust out there and folks dont need to be wasting their time figuring out who is behind the curtain.

for two – id like to think im a bit legitmate in my complaint / concern / greviance / protest / and boycott of DR / DVTV.  I know i certainly have been redundant on the topic.  I’d like to think folks who know me – would know i wouldnt be drawing down videos showing tayler in a hoodie or holding his daughter as evidence of his need to add Deaf ASL folks as an ethnicity and disability to guideline #8 in DR

some past v/blogs explaining why I am boycotting having my blogs or vlogs carried by DR/DVTV are below

there are more but i dont have time to go looking

there are many many other good folks who have been in boycott for a long while

Please note – i bare tayler no ill-will.  i actually like him a great deal.  i actually like the human editors at DR a great deal.  They have a really really hard job in front of them.  I really appreciate the tools he has created for our community.  My issue is simple and JUST.  Deaf ASL folks should be noted as an ethnicity under DVTV guidelines and DR guideline #8 and disability should be added for DR guideline #8 also.

and i promise if folks show up to misuse and abuse it – i will totally bust them on it.

much peace

Patti

https://handeyes.wordpress.com/2010/05/15/what-tangled-webs-deaf-read-and-dvtv-weave/

https://handeyes.wordpress.com/2010/05/16/patti-durrs-letter-to-purple/

https://handeyes.wordpress.com/2009/10/22/why-im-boycotting-dr-and-dvtv/

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. PopeMistress
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 23:09:19

    I already know that Stop DeafRead is NOT you….. It was someone else! Very nice certain person!!!!

  2. handeyes
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 23:30:37

    smile

    well tell the “certain person” s/he might want to take a bow. I dont like getting credit when it ain’t due to me – smile

    peace

    patti

  3. Wendy (Shapiro)MacAskill
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 00:21:31

    very good post.. keep it up. thanks

Leave a Reply

