Joey Baer’s Letter To PURPLE re: DR and DVTV

this is a letter Joey Baer sent to PURPLE representatives. I have his permission to reprint here. If you would like to send your own letter – they can be sent to the addresses below but replace the (at) with @ and the (dot) with a .

ronald.obray(at)purple(dot)us
mark.bella(at)purpl(dot)us
dan.luis(at)purple(dot)us
rebecca.adkins(at)purple(dot)us

Date: Sat, May 15, 2010 at 10:03 PM
Subject: Concern

Dear Dan Luis, Ron Obray and Mark Bella, 

Trust all’s well with ya.  My family and I are doing good and we are looking forward to the summer! 🙂

Since I feel very comfortable with you and know that you will take my words seriously, I am writing this letter to share my grave concern about DeafRead and DeafVideo.  I am very concerned on how DeafRead and DeafVideo operate and approve blogs/vlogs.  To many of us, this is not new because if you refer to my vlog, “Leaving DeafRead” at http://www.joeybaer.com/?p=148 and “Part 2: Leaving DeafRead” at http://www.joeybaer.com/?p=149, that was made in July 2008.  It has been almost two years and it is clear that they have done nothing to protect Deaf community.  This is getting out of control and it is hurting us.

Knowing you both who put integrity and reputation above anything with ultimate goal to provide best quality in everything.  Unfortunately, DeafRead and Deafvideo have not done that and failed to improve their quality and expectations two years ago.  They continue to approve many inappropriate vlogs/blogs and yet denied some great vlogs/blogs and established a lot of double standard practices.  I need to emphasize that if you watch my very beginning message in my second vlog that many others left DeafRead before me.  And since then, many people continue to leave DeafRead because of their practices.

The most recent blog, “What tangled webs Deaf Read and DVTV weave” by Patti Durr at https://handeyes.wordpress.com/2010/05/15/what-tangled-webs-deaf-read-and-dvtv-weave/ , you will notice very similar concern I brought up in July 2008.  it is clear that they continue to ignore many of our pleas for them to improve their standards especially the overall quality of the sites itself.  While they can continue and operate, I strongly recommend that Purple seriously should withdraw your sponsorship toward DeafRead and DeafVideo.  Unless you have already withdrew your sponsorship on their sites, your banners should be removed immediately.  Purple needs to protect their intergrity and reputation that they believe in bringing the Deaf community together rather than the other way, to hurt each other.  DeafRead and DeafVideo editors have failed to do their jobs.

Thank you for taking your time in reading and viewing this letter, two vlogs, and a blog and I certainly hope Purple will take some steps to protect their own integrity and reputation within the Deaf community!

Joey

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Penny
    May 16, 2010 @ 20:56:48

    Joey wrote a good letter. I agree everything he said here. I must admit that I miss his vlogs dearly and I know that many people feel the same way too. Joey is the most popular well respected and well liked by people all over the world. He brought up many healthy discussion and respect everyone’s views. Sometimes he does not agree with commenters like me but he was always polite and left everything stayed where it belonged instead of using threatening tactics to commenters, vloggers, and bloggers. I never thought of writing to Purple to request them to cease sponsorship DR and DVTV. Joey is right that Purple need to stop this sponsorship immediately. I have same concerns that Joey have. Vloggers/bloggers have reported to Tayler Mayer numerous of times in the past two years that some bloggers/vloggers have called vloggers’s work place, threatened their job, filed false police report, vandalized vlogger’s home and etc. Tayler did not show concerns or listened to many complaints. Many myth information about Deaf children and Deaf culture have been APPROVED and PUBLISHED in DR and DVTV. I am for freedom of speech as I do not like others telling me what I can say or not to say but we have responsibilities and boundaries. We need to think of many ignorant hearing parents all over the world who do not know anything about sign language, Deaf culture and Deaf History. I believe that many of them believe that all information in DR are good sources and right place with truth and accurate information about Deaf children and our culture. They do not have clues that myth information from DR is actually destroying future of Deaf children and their rights to sign language for education and others. Tayler wants to continue to publish false myth information because he personally does not feel that he is responsible for future of Deaf children and our community. He is more concern with percentage of visitors to his websites. I consider this cruel, evil and selfish. if he remains this behavior I ask that Purple to stop sponsorship immediately. Joey, thanks for writing an excellent letter.

  2. handeyes
    May 16, 2010 @ 21:44:49

    Hi Penny

    thanks for your comment

    feel free to copy and paste and send to Joey – im sure he will appreciate seeing your note. I hope you have sent a letter to Purple as well. If you want me to print it here just post as a comment and ill copy and paste into a new blog entry

    Thank you for wanting a higher and safer standard as well

    Much peace

    Patti

  3. Penny
    May 16, 2010 @ 21:56:33

    Done. Thanks Patti. I will write a letter tonight or tomorrow and when I am done I will let you copy/paste into a new blog entry. Thanks.

  4. Joey Baer
    May 16, 2010 @ 22:29:41

    Thanks Penny – Like I said in other post, I was at 2007 DeafRead conference and I eventually stood in front of the audience and said DR is not protecting me and us (Deaf Community). So it has been three years that DR failed to take appropriate steps to protect our Deaf community. It is clear that all they care is about allowing anyone to express their own opinion freely even though if it involves bashing of some Deaf leaders or allowing children to mock toward the Deaf community. That is really sad!

    However, we need to stand up to our principles and beliefs.

  5. PopeMistress
    May 17, 2010 @ 11:14:15

    Done sent email to Purple and NAD.

    NAD should keep their blogs, vlogs and their videos on youtube account but they need to close their account on DR and DVTV !!!! Thank you for your update report!

  6. Deb
    May 17, 2010 @ 17:59:03

    Why don’t you add video letters, too? I saw mrjoeybaer’s beautiful video letter to Purple at youtube.

  7. Trackback: Deaf Culture Hijacked: The Hearing-Minded Taking Advantage of the Word “Deaf” « The ASL Project
  8. handeyes
    May 18, 2010 @ 04:18:57

    Penny thanks for sending a letter

    Joey thank you for all you are doing

    Popemistress thanks for letting me post up your letter to PURPLE and NAD

    Hi Deb – I did add Joey’s video letter today. Thank you for pointing it out.

    Today was a very busy day so I havent been able to do a video letter for myself but i do have a video up about Joey’s letter to PURPLE http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=74Qeiua4KHg

    His own video letter that came out today is much superior that how I vlogged about it.

    Will see if tmw gives me any breathing time

    Peace

    patti

Leave a Reply

