SK SK – People of the Eye Stops Keying

Hi all

ive decided to close down People of the Eye

ill leave the site up in case folks want to see items in the archives – many of u have made really great comments here – but no further entries will grace this site

i want to thank everyone who sent me words of support and have contributed to this site. it has been a good place and a good experience for me for the most part so biggest thanks for being part of that

for those who thought my decision to leave DR a few weeks ago was cowardly, turning my back on the Deaf community, my lacking a thick skin etc – i offer the below:

my skin is pretty thick when it comes to folks attacking me but not so much when we attack each other – i just dont have a thick enough skin for that and i hope i never do

not to compare myself with Mahatma Gandhi but rather to explain a bit the difference i see between taking a stand and quiting

when Muslims and Hindus were having a HORRIBLE bloodly conflict against each other after the British left India – Gandhi refused to eat to the point of near death. he fasted several times – whenever the violence flared up so badly his heart was breaking.

i am not Gandhi – i did not fast from DR because i thought I COULD STOP all the fighting but i did fast from DR because if i stayed on DR while it sanctioned attack b/vlogs i would be contributing to the problem – i would not be part of the solution. i would be supporting and perpetuating a system of injustice and i could not ethically do this. by having my own blog/vlog listed on DR i would be sanctioning their actions

i was very close to resigning from DR when Cochlear Implant Online got booted without any warning and without an consistent application of the non-commercial relationship applied across the board to other sites

I had hoped to come back after i saw some of the offensive stuff come down but then it found new ways to reappear and new attacks are launched

so i leave you with my hearty hearty hearty appreciation for the good in all of u and for the wish that wisdom, love, and kindness will return and also fun, laughter, great political discussions, exploration, networking, stimulating and challenging discourse and most of all peaceful activism re-emerge at DeafRead

please know i hold no bad feelings towards DeafRead, its editors, some of the b/vloggers who have posted their attacks and to commenters who have been cruel to each other

Re: some folks concerns that i am turning my back on the Deaf Community – i want to assure u all, I will never turn my back on the Deaf community – this an an opportunity to channel my energy and talents into other places / spaces that are productive and can feed my soul

thanks again to all of you

peace

patti durr

NOTE: i will not be replying to any comments here publicly but will send anyone who chooses to comment a personal email when ur note reaches my inbox. Official going off the air now. SK SK SK

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. SDA
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 16:22:39

    dear patti ~ i hear you. i feel for you. you’re NOT a quitter. you’re being a part of the ‘yet-to-be’ solution. i totally support your decision and course of action. stay well and peace to you, too! ox

  2. agbellinfo
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 16:51:45

    Dear Patti, I love your blogs/vlogs. You are a good and wise person. Buddhism is good. I like your views, opinions, sayings, etc. I hope you will do your own blog/vlog or in other aggregator. I will be sure to find you. May you lead peaceful paths.

  3. Shelley Potma
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 17:05:36

    I can understand your frustration, and your decision to leave. It’s been a difficult and emotional few weeks.

    Hasta luego. It’s not adios…not until the fat lady sings. Thank God I can’t hear her if she does LOL.

    Take care of yourself.

    Shel

  4. Joey Baer
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 19:03:45

    Patti,

    I received similar comments when I left DeafRead that I ought to have thick skin and I am turning back against Deaf community. I can just say that I do not agree with those observation/assessment.

    It is because I know you will CONTINUE and do your work within the Deaf Community in your own way. Just like myself, we are not leaving the Deaf community but simply a small portion of Deaf community, DeafRead.

    I look forward to meeting you this September when you are doing something great for Deaf community in our area!

    May peace be with you!

    Joey

  5. Hearing Mom
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 19:05:46

    Patti,
    You have been a teacher and an inpiration to me. I appreciate your strength and your wisdom. Walking away from an unhealthy environment isn’t being a quitter, it is taking a new path that leads to better things.
    What we are seeing on DR is not a true reflection of the Deaf Community I know. I am sure our paths will cross again in the bright light of the wonderful Deaf Community of people that we know who are there for each other and work towards unity not division.

  6. Warning
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 19:34:43

    PATTI IS DOING THE WORK OF ELLA.

    I WANT TO CONGRATULATE DEAF READ FOR STANDING THEIR GROUND.

    IN OTHER BLOGS AND BY ISSUING TWO ULTIMATUMS, PATTI TRIED TO MANIPULATE DEAF READ.

    WHEN SHE COULD NOT GET HER WAY, SHE PLAYED A LITTLE GIRL AND CALLED IT QUITS TWICE.

    SHE TRIED TO REMOVE A BLOG BECAUSE SHE DID NOT LIKE IT. IF IT WAS LIES, THEN WHY BE SO AFRAID? DEAF READ IS NOT ABOUT FAVORISM.

    FREEDOM OF SPEECH IS A RIGHT–DEAF READ TRIES TO EMBODY THIS AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE.

    THANK YOU AND GOD BLESS.

  7. deb ann
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 19:47:05

    I want to let you know that I always enjoyed your posts. I believe that you’ll be greatly missed. I’ll miss you and your posts. It’s getting harder in Deafread now. I hope it will slow down in a short time.

    Let me know if you create your own website. If so, contact me through my email (I have it on my blog)

    Wish you the best luck.
    With warmest regards,
    Deb Ann

  8. Jean Boutcher
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 20:29:38

    Dear Patti,

    I can perfectly well understand your deep sense of frustration. It is disappointing that some people do not fathom the core of your message in all of your blogposts in some of which solutions were offered. I hope that you will not exile yourself permanently.

    Paix toujours,
    Jean

  9. deafchipmunk
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 21:56:44

    Hi there

    Sorry about the situation that should not happen. There are some people who have NO respect for Deaf people. It is sad that many corrupt people have tried to push us out. I am fed up with them for being most illogical and irrational human beings and they are most anti circular approach even though they think they are.

    All I have to do is to shake my head unbelievably.

    Deafchip

  10. moi
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 22:30:44

    Hi Patti,

    I am very sorry to see your voice leave DeafRead, but I completely understand. I admire you for standing up for your principles.

    Thank you for all of your loving, caring, and thoughtful posts and responses!!! They have added so much to the discussions we’ve had in DeafBlogLand over the past year or so.

    I truly hope that you will feel able to blog again, just not on DeafRead. You have such a way of putting things that will be sorely missed.

    Thank you again for everything!!! I agree with Joey – I know you will continue to work for the betterment of our community and people even if you are not blogging here on People of the Eye. *hug*

  11. Dianrez
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 07:18:33

    Patti, one understandably becomes tired of the bad element and want to turn to more productive endeavors.

    But your statement made me want to respond:

    “if i stayed on DR while it sanctioned attack b/vlogs i would be contributing to the problem – i would not be part of the solution. i would be supporting and perpetuating a system of injustice and i could not ethically do this. by having my own blog/vlog listed on DR i would be sanctioning their actions”

    DR is not in the position of censoring bad blogs or comments; there is little beyond removal of those that break guidelines that they can do.

    But we, the readers, can let these toxic people know that we will not stand for their depressing and annoying input.

    The answer is for the positive, stimulating and nuturing bloggers to stay on and outnumber the toxic ones.

    Leaving is just going to turn DR over to them and it will be a real loss to the rest of us.

    All the best, Patti, in your works.

  12. Anonymous
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 08:22:36

    Dianrez,

    There is no reason why Deaf Read needs to include blogs that commit libel.

    DR would be fully justified in removing those blogs entirely.

    That’s not censorship or inhibiting speech. That’s common sense and doing the right thing.

Leave a Reply

