Im outta here – adios and be well

after seeing the latest feeding frenzy and pointing the fingers and condemnations and ….

i have decided to leave Deafread

its with a heavy heart but its all just so BONK right now and it makes no sense at all
we do not have our eyes on the prize – the future of Deaf children and their right to a fully accessible language to live and love by.
we do not have our eyes on the prize – the future of Deaf children to feel ok with who they are as people of the eye.

we do not have our eyes on the prize – that while we are all so eager to rip each other to pieces verbally (in English and ASL – wow look we are bilingual), we have put G-d’s noblest gift to the most shamefullest use

we are self-destructing

we have forgotten that it is the “fix-it up chappy” who is driving away happy to see us squabbling and bickering over whether or not we butter our bread upside down or not or have a star on thar

alas – it is a shame. there is SO SO SO much for us to learn about ourselves, each other, Deaf history and heritage and our people

i do not leave because the badness that is being tossed around has won. i leave because it is not a safe place for my soul, heart, or mind to hang out. I know i will miss some gems but the landmines and gernandes are just to many right now

as always i do sincerely apologize if in any way my participation in the blog/vlogsphere has contributed to such landmines

adios DeafRead – it was nice knowing u. i am sorry it has come to this

be well ALL – u r dear to me

peace

patti durr SK SK
“Our nettlesome task is to discover how to organize our strength into compelling power.” MLK Jr

“I refuse to accept the view that mankind is so tragically bound to the starless midnight of racism and war that the bright daybreak of peace and brotherhood can never become reality. I believe that
unarmed truth and unconditional love will have the final word.” MLK Jr.

“Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere.” MLK Jr

“Violence as a way of achieving racial justice is both impractical and immoral. It is impractical because it is a descending spiral ending in destruction for all. It is immoral because it seeks to humiliate the opponent rather than win his understanding; it seeks to annihilate rather than to convert. Violence is immoral because it thrives on hatred rather than love.” MLK Jr

65 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Don Grushkin
    Jul 14, 2008 @ 21:12:55

    Patti,

    UNDERSTAND FULL ME!

  2. Ali
    Jul 14, 2008 @ 21:17:19

    I will keep checking your site for good stuff (Deaf history, Deaf people, etc).

    Wonderful quotes by MLKJr. I agree with him.

    Ali

  3. Another Refugee from the Flame Wars
    Jul 14, 2008 @ 21:18:11

    Please don’t go!

    If you leave, then the terrorists win!

  4. Jean Boutcher
    Jul 14, 2008 @ 21:35:13

    Patti,

    ME ALSO UNDERSTAND YOU.

    PAIX,
    JEAN

  5. brenster-
    Jul 14, 2008 @ 21:35:27

    OH WOW, Patti- I completely do not blame you at all. That is why I stayed away from DeafRead for a long time until last Saturday. I had to comment at many blogs, because I can’t just stand by and allow those irrational and angry people tearing down our Deaf community, as well as bashing on our cherished leaders. It sickens me to no end.

    The fire is all over in the forest, the part of the wood you said you go and hang out. Now it’s raging completely out of control.

    The question… what should we do about this? Do we want to be united and spray water to put out those fire? Or do we want to run away and let the forest be burnt into blackness?

    That is why I came back to DeafRead, and speak up. I just hope that I don’t get burned in that forest…

    Yes, I agree with you that the environment in the DeafRead is NOT very healthy now, it’s full of angry libelous flaming, and it keeps getting worse and worse.

    It would be better off for our souls, minds, and hearts to leave DeafRead. It did me good for last couple of months until last Saturday. Now, I feel like the old bad memories came back.

    I’m trying to think of what the burning forest might symbolize… Definitely not our Deaf community, but rather that it symbolizes the DeafRead.

    In that case, maybe it’s best to let the DeafRead get burnt into blackness. So, we can start over elsewhere from a scratch and starting with a healthy approach.

    Or spray water to get fire out, and repair damages and try to heal from there.

    Which is better for our souls, hearts, and minds?

    I want to thank you, Patti, for all your contributions, and you have been an inspiration to me and, I am sure, to many others!

    Warmly yours-

    ———–

    One final note about the DeafRead, I want to be clear that it is not to you, Patti. I want to leave a message for the DeafRead team.

    I wanted to say to you the DeafRead team:

    Don’t you have any shame?

    Allowing the post, “Ella, You are a Coward!” to enter into front page of the DeafRead? What is wrong with you???

    This post clearly is in violation of DeafRead’s guideline of Name Calling. In the past, you put other bloggers’ posts attacking on single individuals into Extra Remember, Gary Brooks on Ridor; JFLMad on Gary Brooks, and such.

    It is such hypocrite for you, the DeafRead team, to allow the post singling out Ella to slip into the main page of the DeafRead.

    By placing this post to enter the main page, the DeafRead permits further anger to unleash and go out of control. As of now: Monday, July 14, 2008 at 11:27 PM (cst), this post got over 730 views on the DeafRead, and this post generated over 136 comments that focused on bashing on Ella.

    Don’t you have any shame, integrity??? You disgust me!

    I ought to join Patti in leaving DeafRead!

  6. Ali
    Jul 14, 2008 @ 21:39:33

    Brenster,
    do you have your own blog? In case you leave, I want to keep in touch with you!
    I hope that many of you do stay because Deafread is the only place I go to keep up with great minds like you and Patti.
    -Ali

  7. moi
    Jul 14, 2008 @ 21:48:33

    Oh, Patti. I am so sorry. At the same time, I understand. It’s not safe here anymore.

    What I’ve done is set up my RSS feed with blogs that I trust and enjoy. When I can’t stand DeafRead, I rely solely on my RSS feed. Maybe you could continue to enjoy selected blogs that way?

    I so hate to lose your unique voice, though. However, I totally respect your choice – you need to do what is right for you. *hug*

  8. ain't surprised...
    Jul 14, 2008 @ 22:11:47

    Don’t forget that who put lot of effective into it is the same people from deafvillage. Yup, Ben and the idiots.

    Yup, Paotie and the people are laughing over there now. me? I don’t care as long as I have my favorite blogs listed in my RSS list and deafvideo.tv.

  9. dog food
    Jul 14, 2008 @ 22:57:28

    like, whatever. its just da internet.

    i’m glad you’re moving on with the real world.

  10. SDA
    Jul 14, 2008 @ 23:53:20

    i feel you.
    it is a sad time.
    however, i try to be hopeful that a more civil and healthy dialogue in the deaf blogsphere will happen soon.
    thank you, patti, for all your beautiful pieces here.
    peace.

  11. Dan
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 00:22:42

    What a DRAMA of Deaf Cults!

  12. Anon
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 04:28:33

    Patti,

    I admire you and will miss you badly.

    Yes, I am thinking about leaving Deafread too because all this negative blogs was started by two Deafread Human editors and I don’t think it was an accident.

  13. Karen Mayes
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 04:46:14

    I understand you. DeafRead has succeeded in showing diversity and diversity usually comes with agreements and disagreements. Trying to be neutral and at the same time empathetic is a challenge…

    Peace be with you.

  14. Dianrez
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 05:00:37

    Please don’t leave. We need reasonable and compassionate voices on the Deaf v/blogs, else the trolls and backbiters will take over.

    We actually outnumber them, we just have to keep pitching in our views and this important vehicle of the Deaf community will survive.

    We need it because Deaf aggregators are the best way we have for pulling together and developing the spirit of Deaf communities all over the world.

  15. Karen Mayes
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 05:27:53

    Sigh…Dianrez, many of us have different opinions, but does not make us “trolls and backbiters”.

    We feel strongly about some subjects, positively or negatively, depending on our upbringing.

    Diversity is a complicated word… we all have our own definition of diversity, as well as of unity. As well as we have our own definition of oppression.

    Internet is both a safe and unsafe world, all right… where reputations are made and destroyed. Where money is earned and lost. Etc.

  16. Darlene Ewan
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 05:32:09

    Patti…

    You cannot stop blogging or vlogging. When I was only 19 years old when you told me to get my suitcase and see the world. I did that.

    I became a person with a career. I became a person working with all kind of people. I became the person you believed in.

    It is my turn to tell you this, you have blossomed into a person who became confident in life. You made difference in life. You have touched many people’s heart as much as any bloggers and vloggers did everyday.

    I hope you will remember that you carry a great life and poured your thoughts to our world in many positive ways.

    Please continue to do what you can do for our community.

    Be a role model.

    Thinking of you.

  17. Karen Mayes
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 05:41:52

    I read in stunned surprised that the letters were being submitted to CSD-Fremont and RSD in NYS.

    Oh come on. How much more damage does it need to be done? Leave both people alone (DE and Barb.) Barb has DONE a lot of great work at RSD. She has a strong analytical mind. Etc. DE, I don’t know him well, but I view him as a human being even though I don’t always agree with what he says online, but that is me.

    But trying to bring Barb down? NO WAY. I don’t care if she supports Deafhood, etc., but she is a WONDERFUL teacher! And she was a good friend to me while I lived in Rochester, NY.

    Leave Barb alone. Leave DE alone.

    Damage is done. Now it’s time to clean up the mess and hopefully we learn something from it.

  18. Karen Mayes
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 05:56:37

    I am a little upset now. I mean, calling for Barb’s teaching credibility into question? No, no…there are many deaf teachers who are surely against CIs also. We also have said many negative things about many subjects.

    Oh my goodness. I am for BOTH ASL and CI and oracy and cued speech, as long as parents are involved. I am for all options. I have not changed… but DBC/Deafhood. I don’t know. Barb SHOULD NOT lose any over her involvement in DBC. Yes, DBC did show anti-AGBell attitude which had me concerned right from the beginning.

    I don’t know anymore.

  19. Richard Roehm
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 06:02:40

    DBC Mess + NAD Confusion = Death Of ASL?

  20. Sean Gerlis
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 06:19:22

    Patti,

    Please do not leave. I am one of your devoted reader. I really value your opinions.

    Regrettably, there are so many people who practice crab theory. We shall not allow them get to us. We need to show them we are here to learn and improve our community by sharing the knowledge.

    Please do not leave.

    Call me through vp when you can.

    With warm regards,

    -Sean

  21. Shel
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 06:24:06

    I understand your feelings, Patti. It is with great sadness that I view this post.

    It is definitely toxic right now, but we need to take a stand against bullying, putdowns, etc. You chose your stand by departing, unfortunately– our loss.

    The rest of us need to take a stand against viciousness in other ways.

    My eye has never strayed from the prize…Deaf babies.

    Those who delight in tearing people down simply don’t get it. The “rules of engagement” need to be respected.

    Keep on blogging even if you aren’t on DeafRead. I WILL certainly check your blogsite out for new postings. You are one of the bright spots here in DeafRead.

    By the way, I wish to thank you for your hard work in volunteering for children program. My 5 sons truly enjoyed you and recognized you on the DBC videos.

    With much love,
    Shelley

  22. Mishka Zena
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 07:02:14

    Patti, I hope you will reconsider and stay. I enjoy your posts and your wisdom. You helped me look at some issues differently.

    There is so much hurt in the Deaf Community. I do wonder.. are we so different that we cannot understand and accept each other? It saddens me.

    Deafhood, as truly defined by Paddy Ladd is a personal journey for each of us, nothing more. Labels, like deficit thinkers, colonialists, and oppressors, shouldn’t be given to people as these labels hurt them. Labels block constructive dialogue. I think that’s where some of the anger came from the negative comments from DBC leaders last Dec and again last Feb. Deaf people felt offended by these people and afterwards these people felt offended. Many people got hurt. We need to explore our hurt and anger. These are feelings, no right or wrong, but how we handle them is differently. We need to try to talk to each other and share our thoughts and feeling honestly. How can we understand each other if we don’t do it?

    I was also dismayed to hear about the letter to Dept of Education about Barb. She is a good person with a big heart and really loves D/deaf community. She doesn’t deserve it.

    This conflicts will happen due to the diversity of D/deaf people. This would be a good opportunity to tell everybody.. stop bashing and discuss this openly.. and see if we can learn and heal. You would be a good person to help with the healing process, Patti.

    Truth is very important. Acceptance is also important.

    Can we begin exploring the conflicts and discuss with everybody why there is so much hurt and anger?

  23. Brian L. Mayes
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 08:27:19

    Patti –

    Stay on board please? We need a diverse of deaf people. But then again, I can understand what you are going thru… I too left DeafRead, not cuz of Paotie, Mike or Ben, but cuz of the people on the other side who hurt us too.

    It is people like you that give us a look in the other direction. Might not agree, but we do listen otherwise we would not talk about it.

    Richard, please, stop. ASL will never ever die and you of all people know better than that. So, please, stop?

    I want everyone to understand that if there was no two sides of every subject, there would be nothing to talk about. So, it takes all kinds to make a world! It is fact and we have to except it! If we don’t then division happens.

    So, Patti, hang in there… Go walk the forest cuz IT IS NOT BURNING! Just colorful! No two trees are alike and that is the same with all of us. We are the forest and you think we want to burn it down? I think not.

  24. Joey Baer
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 08:29:14

    Patti –

    I am with you and I am leaving DeafRead as well.

    I love your quote: “we do not have our eyes on the prize – the future of Deaf children to feel ok with who they are as people of the eye.”

    Will post my vlog to share my thoughts very soon. I am very sad.

    Joey

  25. Drolz
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 08:42:12

    I’m in total agreement with Karen Mayes’ comment above. Calling Barb and DE’s teaching credibility into question indicates the whole mess has sunk into a good old fashioned, pitchforks-and-torches witch hunt.

    I need to reiterate this: I have NO problem with constructive criticism geared towards DBC. I have personally learned from a lot of the comments (maybe I’ll elaborate more on this later)and I’m sure others have learned as well.

    But again, there are those who are clearly taking a piranha-like, perverse pleasure in the mudslinging that’s going on.

    Come on, anyone can see it. You can easily spot the difference between those who are genuinely concerned about the future of deaf children and those who are cackling and gleefully feeding the flames of chaos. It’s sickening, really.

    This brings us back to Amy Cohen Efron’s vlog titled “U.S.S. Deafness Public.” You can revisit it at:
    http://blog.deafread.com/abcohende/2008/06/09/uss-deafness-public/

    Amy challenged us to imagine what would happen if a diverse group of deaf people were stuck on a big ship without a captain. It was with much reluctance I posted a rare pessimistic response:

    Hey Amy,

    Great question — I love how you make us think!

    I hate to be pessimistic. There are lots of happily-ever-after scenarios I’d love to see. But in reality, what we’d have is constant mutiny and the ship sinks. It’s just human nature.

    In order for a happy ending to occur, most likely you need another ship. A bigger ship that threatens to blow the U.S.S. Deafness Public out of the water. At which point everyone would hopefully unite, make the most of each other’s strengths, and whoop their common enemy.

    Of course, if the captain of the other ship knew his war strategy, he’d be content to drop anchor on the horizon and wait for U.S.S. Deafness Public to destroy itself.

    Dang, it’s been a rough week (and it’s only Monday!) so maybe I’m a bit cranky today. Especially after all the bickering on U.S.S. DeafRead, uh, Deafness Public.

    Ugh. We’ve got a long, long, way to go. Let’s clean up our mess.

    Best regards,
    Drolz

  26. Dianrez
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 08:43:06

    Karen, trolls and backbiters are those who resort to name calling, character assasination, or contribute to blogs solely to stir up negative feelings.

    That doesn’t include people who contribute ideas and opinions in a fair and positive way, as you have.

  27. Dianrez
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 08:51:30

    It distressed me also that Barb and DE had critical letters sent to their places of employment.

    It had worried me that people who took public stands against the CI or engaged in political action might suffer repercussions on their jobs.

    This bears examination of school policies versus freedom of speech. Let’s not lose any valuable Deaf educators over this.

    People who write letters like this need to examine their own motives and be ready to publicly defend themselves when their names become known.

    No one wins in this ugly scenario.

  28. Brian L. Mayes
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 09:00:48

    I’m in total agreement with Dianrez and Karen! Sending emails to a place of employment is beyond cruel! It is stupid! You want to lose good people who teach our future generation? Of course not!! So, please stop and retract those emails if possible… There is no need for it!

    Oh, I’m furious all over again!

  29. Jimson Weathers
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 09:51:53

    You choose your battles as you see fit. But that doesnt mean you are leaving the war to be won by the enemy.

    I agree with Patti’s move. The situation is just total bull-manure that personal time is too important to invest in this matter.

  30. Brian L. Mayes
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 09:55:11

    One more thing, Patti, on a more personal note, I might not have agreed with some of what you said, but you always made me think rationally and to keep a cool head. So, score one for you!!

    😉

  31. BT
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 10:20:34

    I agreed with Karen Mayes. It is time to stop exposing. Especially Ben calling Ella out. I don’t think he’s evil. I resist how he felt. Come to think of it, Ben is a blogger until the DBC mess…. he started to vlog.. spreading to deafvideo.tv. What does that tell you? It questions me how creditability he is. Aidan??? Aidan calling Amy out… It’s pretty self-explained. Most of us know her history anyway!

    Back to Ben, let’s sit back and think. Had AGBell come out and explain their role on Pepsi’s letter? No. Why should Ella and other DBC members come out? That doesn’t mean I sided with DBC. I am in a neutral side. No, I am not on the fence. Heck no. To make a long concept of Deafhood short, a Deafhood is in me. Deafhood is a self journey. It is not necessary to be on same page as others. Back to my neutral side, it’s my deafhood. I am building a deafhood for MYSELF… MIND YOU!! it s not for you… After all, Barry Sewell is right. I am human being to start with. Yes, Deaf is second on my agenda and build from there. I still don’t agree with Barry. What he did oh boy… you got to hand to him. He got the balls. now these letters to CSDF and RSD — OMG! that’s outrageous.

    Patti, I had you for American History class. I always look at you as very strong spirited lady. Wherever you go, let it be a safe journey for you..

  32. Aidan Mack
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 10:29:12

  33. deafchipmunk
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 11:57:14

    Hi Patti,

    I understand you perfectly. DR has been in a very bad situation and too negative at this moment. As of now, a few people have gone insane by attacking and insulting you, me and other personally.

    Hope they realize what they have done to other Deaf people.

    DBC will grow and promote Bilingaulism for all Deaf babies and children.

    Take care
    Deafchip

  34. Shelley Potma
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 13:17:33

    Karen,

    Where is the link re: letters being written to Barb and DE’s places of employment?

    This distresses me, as it does Dianrez and others.

    We already have a shortage of good Deaf educators regardless of their backgrounds. We cannot afford to lose ANY.

    What can we do to stop this from going further than it already has?

    Shel

  35. Shelley Potma
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 13:18:47

    How do I use RSS Feed? I’m a bit technologically challenged, obviously, but I do want to continue reading Patti’s blog and other good blogs and vlogs.

    Shelley

  36. Karen Mayes
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 13:43:29

    The “breaking news” was removed… it detailed about the concerned group writing to the department of education in both states (CA and NYS) and the schools where they are employed… it was on DBCFacts.com, so I don’t know any more than it. I am sure other people have noticed it too. A lot (evidences) was removed from DBCFacts.com as well.

  37. Shelley Potma
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 13:46:53

    I just hope that the letter writing has been dropped as well.

    Shelley

  38. moi
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 14:54:58

    Shelley (#36), good question about the RSS feed. There are many different RSS readers, some are installed on your computer and some are online so you can access it from any computer and from your pager.

    I apologize for not providing a tutorial here, but there’s one somewhere on the DeafRead Editors’ blog, I think.

    I personally use Bloglines.com, and they walk you through the process very well, in my opinion.

    Hope this helps.

  39. Shelley Potma
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 15:00:30

    Moi,

    Thank you for your helpfulness. I will try Bloglines.com 🙂

    Shel

  40. John Lefman
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 15:08:13

    ASL will die but our saviour is RICHARD ROEHM!

  41. misha
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 15:43:46

    Wait wait….wait a minute!!!!

    What letters were being sent to Barb Digi’s and DE’s place of employments?!? Where did you hear that? Who sent them? What contents in the letters? I’d like to see the link or some source.

    If that is true, it is NOT right to send the letters to their employers. IT IS SO WRONG ON MANY LEVELS! THAT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH DBC NOR THEIR TEACHING CREDIBILITES!

    WHOEVER SENT THE LETTERS SHOULD BE SHAMED! I’m really appalled.

    Patti….
    You don’t have to leave DeafRead just because of the problems going on with DBC and others. You have to learn to develop your thick skin and move on. But obviously you haven’t.
    If you reconsider on coming back, that’s great.

    Misha

  42. misha
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 16:41:24

    Patti….

    Please remove that John Lefman’s comment. That is disgusting to watch. Richard Roehm shouldn’t be around DeafRead and everyone’s other blogs. He should be kept away because he doesn’t support ASL. Period!

    Misha

  43. RLM
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 17:06:30

    Patti,

    I did not really realize that is you -the same person – Patti Raswant. I assume that you go back to your maiden name – Durr. I always though that was someone else.

    I really do know HOW you really feel about the real messy soap opera bickerings on the DR.

    This is just a temporary phase. The DR would go back to the normal stage. I would not worry about it.

    Yea, the AGBell could use all the comments and vlog presentations as ammunition in their PR releases to show what kind of community we are.

    Ben Vess is just a idealistic young man. Let Ben breathe fire until he is out of propane gas.

    That is kinda entertaining for all of us anyway since there are no good tv shows or movies on TV. 🙂

    Robert L. Mason (RLM)

  44. Karen Mayes
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 17:15:58

    DBCFacts.com was declared “closed” this PM… this morning there was a “breaking news” about the letters being sent… that is all I know. I assume that people told him to take it down.

  45. Jean Boutcher
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 17:22:52

    RLM in #16,

    LOL, No, no, no, Patti Durr is
    not Patricia Raswant. The former
    is based in New York whereas the latter is based in Virginia.

  46. Abbie
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 17:26:19

    Patti,

    I will be adding you to my reader and I don’t blame you one bit.

  47. agbellinfo
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 18:13:41

    Karen Mayes,

    “DBCFacts.com was declared “closed” this PM… this morning there was a “breaking news” about the letters being sent… that is all I know. I assume that people told him to take it down.”

    I think that it is more than that. Barry lied and hoped that you all believed him. But maybe legal action got to Barry.

    Folks, be careful about joining Barry or Amy or Ben or Mishkazena’s propaganda against DBC.

    This is just the tip of the iceberg. Don’t be part of them.

  48. Ben Vess
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 18:18:33

    Patti,

    This departure along with Joey Baer seems like a thinly veiled statement against me (I will not include the others here) so I’m going to ask you this, like I asked Joey Baer.

    Would my departure and possible dismantlement of my blog/vlogs bring you guys back into Deafread?

    Contrary to many people’s belief: I value my community. I will censor myself to save the community and keep your and Joey’s voices alive.

    I am sorry to read that you are leaving but if it is because of me, then, my community, my peers (yourself) will come before my blog/vlogs.

    This is directly to Patti Durr and not to the commenters. She can answer me in public or in private, as she has my email.

    -Ben

  49. Shelley Potma
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 18:37:26

    John,

    People attacking people is part of the reason Patti and Joey and others are leaving.

    Please don’t attack the former members of DBC as well.

    We are tired of vicious attacks, fingerpointing and blaming.

    We have had ENOUGH of this behaviour.

    Thank you,

    Shelley

  50. Mishka Zena
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 18:45:58

    John,

    Telling the truth is now ‘propaganda’?

    You bashed other people for being deficit thinkers. Where did this term come from? Deafhood. DBC leaders spoke about colonialists. Where did that word come from? Deafhood. DBC leaders again spoke about audism and audism behind the cochlear implants and oralism. Where did these concepts come from? Deafhood.

    Facts are there if people want to review all the materials in the blogs/vlogs, their comments in other blogs/vlogs, press release, materials from DBC conference itself, the infamous newspaper interview.

    The most important thing is that people are aware and they can decide for themselves what to believe. I do hope DBC will continue as it meets the needs of some people in the Deaf Community. It’s more transparent, which is also important.

    I do wish you, the other DBC leaders and DBC the best of luck. I am sincere.

  51. Jean Boutcher
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 18:56:37

    Dianrez and Misha,

    Au contraïre, what has happened to Barb and DE is nothing new under the sun in that I had been there myself. I was warned in 1996 by two Gallaudet deans for dissenting in a Deaf-L forum in regard to audism and the paternalistic mentality commonly practised by some faculty-staff members on campus. They gave me a copy of each of two complaints’ emails — one from a deaf “oral” staff member and the other from a hearing graduate student. The academic freedom, the deans pointed out, is not to be exercised off campus. I asked them what about the First Amendment outlining the freedom of speech. They said that in order to freely dissent I would have to resign. I declared Gallaudet’s practise “unconstitutional”. It is utterly inconceivable to obey unthinkably. Look at the world’s famous linguist Noam Chomsky: he freely dissents presidents, Congress, foreign affairs, ad infinitum; yet, he has never been fired from the M.I.T.

    To Barb and DE, you have a right to demand to see the letters that were sent to your employers. You have to defend yourselves. You may file a complaint in the NAD’s law office. I am sympathetic with you in this regard.

    Jean Boutcher
    Political – Peace Activist

  52. Shelley Potma
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 19:10:47

    Jean,

    I concur with your comment #51.

    Shelley

  53. Jean Boutcher
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 19:31:51

    Shelley,

    I cannot agree more with you
    in this regard. It is quite taxing to see people attack
    one another.

    Divided, We Fall!
    United, We Stand.

    Jean Boutcher

  54. Fletcher
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 19:41:38

    Shelley,

    I will stand up and die for Deaf babies’ need of cognitive development skills as soon as possible after more than 100 years of waiting and those other people’s self interest are delaying it.

    Enough is Enough!

    It is time to be…

    UNITED, We help Deaf babies now!

    Stop playing games and get on with it!

    Peace

  55. D
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 20:06:22

    Adios. I support and understand your position. When you have the time, please view

    http://disablism.blogspot.com/

    Thank you,

    D

  56. Shelley Potma
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 20:10:09

    Fletcher,
    I am for Deaf babies, too. Think of it this way:

    How will attacking each other help Deaf babies?

    Yeah. Enough is enough…OF ATTACKS.

    Once we have settled that, and start treating each other like the decent human beings that we are, then we can truly get down to the business of working together for Deaf babies.

    Fletcher, it is good that you care for deaf babies.

    Peace to you too 😉
    Shel

  57. Fletcher
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 20:35:28

    Shelley,

    Attacking and Defending are two different methods to achieve success.

    I am actually defending Deaf babies’s needs from those that are hurting the Deaf babies’ needs, all due to their self interest.

    If my wife is being deprived by someone, should I united or divide this attacker/depriver?

    It is the concept of what is right or wrong and if it is wrong to deprive this baby’s need of cognitive development skills, should I united? or should I divide my passion for this Baby’s need of cognitive development skills?

    The age of 0 to 5 is so important to receive cognitive development skills and if I procrastinate my heart’s desire to help this baby, will I be guilty for being pathetic if I did not doing enough after the child passes the age of 5?

    Every minute of playing with words of reasoning
    such as “United” and “Dividing” hurt babies daily.

    It is time to stop playing around and start working for Deaf Babies since 1880.

    Enough is Enough! PLEASE!

    Peace

  58. pdurr
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 20:49:29

    Thank you for each of your comments

    u r all precious to me

    i want to clarify that Gandhi and MLK JR adhered to the philosophy that some called “passive resistance” because they acted by NOT doing things – sit-ins (not moving), fasting (not eating), as well as marches, rallies, petitions, and boycotts (not riding the bus – refusing to buy or support something)

    my choice to leave DR is not a symbolic gesture, it is not because i personally have been attacked or hurt, it is because the hate and meanness of many recent blogs/vlogs and comments listed on Deafread are sanctioning persecution and i can not be part of that

    Again – thanks for your many kind and thoughtful notes

    I do not want to encourage folks to leave DR also because i love DR

    i thank Joey Baer for doing so – it was brave and peacefully done

    Perhaps just a day of silence – meaning folks pick ONE day and declare that folks who want the verbal violence to stop will not blog/vlog or click Deafread for one full day

    a strike

    this is another peaceful way to communicated discontent

    again i dont want folks to go after Deafread – i do not think Deafread is THE problem

    i think each of us must ask ourselves how and why we blog/vlog or comment and also to CONSIDER the impact of our actions and words on others

    ben – thank u for the personal note – i will email u

    again to all of u THANKS and darlene u made me cry

    peace

    patti

  59. John Egbert
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 21:14:08

    Patti Durr,

    Take care and I care, please keep in touch as you inspire me and keep me within reason to know how to achieve success for Deaf Babies.

    I am a nobody,
    But a Deaf baby is somebody

  60. Trackback: Mr. Sandman’s Sandbox » DeafRead, the Deaf Blogosphere, and Ethics
  61. Ellen O'Hara
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 14:11:20

    I agree that it is important to maintain positive interaction among us deaf people to increase unity. I fully concur that we need to keep our focus on the outcome that we want- bilingualism for all children and ASL early intervention for deaf children.

    I admire your bravery to stand up for your belief and know when to say, “Knock it off.”

  62. Love your Blog!
    Jul 17, 2008 @ 00:04:32

    [riffly_video]5EDBC40653CD11DD8A89D6ACAA01D9A4[/riffly_video]

  63. D
    Jul 17, 2008 @ 14:27:44

    Patti,

    It was unfortunate that I have not gotten to get to know you more in the v/blogsphere, but I look forward to crossing paths and engaging in constructive discourses with you…after all, this is a small deaf community.

    All the best,

    Tommy

  64. ANON
    Jul 17, 2008 @ 19:54:50

    You are still on DeafRead’s blog list. If you want to stop, ask Tayler to remove your name from the list. We will subscribe directly from you. People need to get their blogs and vlogs off DeafRead’s list.

  65. deb ann
    Jul 19, 2008 @ 21:29:33

    I’ll miss you. I’ve always enjoyed your vlog/blogs. Please come back when you reconsider.

    Love you and I will always check your blog from my blog.

Leave a Reply

